Skip to content


The Danish Parliament is called Folketinget. It is the legislative assembly in Denmark, which votes on and adopts the laws that apply in Denmark. Folketinget is also responsible for adopting the state's budgets, approving the state's accounts, exercising control of the Government and taking part in international cooperation.


Denmark has not always been a democracy. Democracy in Denmark was introduced with the country's first Constitutional Act in 1849, and has thus developed over the past 170 years under the influence of events and political concepts and ideas from at home and abroad. The Danish democracy resemble many other democracies in other countries, yet it does have its own characteristics.

The political system of Denmark is a multi-party structure, where several parties can be represented in government. Danish governments are often characterised by minority administrations, aided with the help of one or more supporting parties. This means that Danish politics is based on consensus politics. Since 1909, no single party has had the majority in Parliament.


Form of government: Constitutional monarchy
Head of state: Queen Margrethe II  (since 14 January 1972)
Prime Minister: Lars Løkke Rasmussen (Venstre - the Liberal Party)